

## June 8, 2020

## Joint Statement from ASTCT, CIBMTR, FACT, ISCT and EBMT

Racism has no place in our society and profession. The American Society for Transplantation and Cellular Therapy (ASTCT), the Center for International Blood and Marrow Transplant Research (CIBMTR), Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy (FACT), the International Society for Cell & Gene Therapy (ISCT), and the European Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (EBMT) all find these acts of racism reprehensible and inexcusable. This cannot be ignored any longer by the global community and our respective organizations.

We stand for the advancement of innovative, life-saving medicine. We know the importance of moving the needle forward in order to enact positive, powerful change. When it comes to issues of racism and violence, we realize the need for change, too.

We recognize that racism is an institutional problem in health care, and we are committed to doing our part to bridge that gap. We stand behind those who promote equality, diversity and inclusion. As a health care community, we have to do better—for not only the patients we serve, but the communities they live in as well.

As we work toward improving diversity and denouncing racism in health care and cities around the world, we commit to having the important conversations and supporting critical initiatives within our community that move us toward equality both in the transplantation, cellular and gene therapy workforce and in access to lifesaving therapies.

Please use this resource from the National Museum of African American History & Culture to educate yourself on the importance of talking about race and to find tools on combating racism in your own communities. We ask that you stand with us in denouncing racism and violence.

University of Nebraska Medical Center • 986065 Nebraska Medical Center • Omaha, Nebraska 68198-6065, USA Tel: (402) 559-1950 • Fax: (402) 559-1951

President Dennis Gastineau, MD Phoenix, Arizona

Daniel Couriel, MD Salt Lake City, Utah

Donna Salzman, MD Birmingham, Alabama Vice President Ngaire Elwood, PhD Parkville, Victoria, Australia

Paul Eldridge, PhD Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Bipin Savani, MD

Nashville, Tennessee

Carlos Bachier, MD Nashville, Tennessee

Secretary

Patrick Hanley, PhD Washington, D.C.

New York, New York

Joseph Schwartz, MD, MPH

Kimberly Kasow, DO Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Treasurer

Nadim Mahmud, MD, PhD Chicago, Illinois

Elizabeth Shpall, MD

Houston, Texas

Huy Pham, MD, MPH Los Angeles, California Phyllis Warkentin, MD

Omaha, Nebraska

Past President

Houston, Texas

Helen Heslop, MD

Alan Balch, PhD Hampton, Virginia

Carlos Ramos, MD Houston, Texas

Abba Zubair, MD, PhD Jacksonville, Florida